Woe was me: “Device not recognized in iTunes for Windows”

I was having some trouble with my iPhone 5 towards the end of our stay in Shanghai – my phone would suddenly shut down (even if there’s still battery), sometimes when I’m in the midst of using my phone but other times by itself and I only find out when I want to use my phone.
When I returned to Singapore, I would also lose cellular data and would only be able to get it back after I restart my phone. I called my Telecom provider, Starhub, in order to have them troubleshoot my cellular network but their system shows that my cellular data is “healthy”. (Daniel is a Starhub subscriber too and doesn’t have issues with his data, so… Maybe it’s my phone?)

So, last week, I decided to back my phone up so that I could get it replaced one-for-one somewhere (I’ve done a one-for-one replacement at Starhub within the 1-year warranty period for my previous iPhone 3GS and iPhone 4S. 😛 ).
When I plugged my iPhone into the computer, iTunes did not detect it but Windows 8 detected it!!! 😮
On the other hand, my iPad Mini could be detected.

I googled for solutions but the pages I checked out and tried did not work for me! 😦
With the serial and IMEI numbers of my iPhone ready, I decided to contact Apple for support and service and here’re the steps I was guided through by the Apple Support and Service Advisor, Belle, to get my computer to detect my device:

  1. Go to ‘Control Panel’.
  2. Click ‘Devices and Printers’. (Wait for the page to load and you should see your iPhone (or whatever device that could not be detected) under ‘Unspecified’.)
  3. Right click on the device.
  4. Click ‘Properties’. (There should be a pop-up.)
  5. (You should be on the ‘General’ tab.) Click on the ‘Hardware’ tab.
  6. Click ‘Properties’ at the bottom right. (There should be a pop-up.)
  7. (You should be on the ‘General’ tab.) Click on ‘Change settings’ at the bottom left. (There should be a pop-up.)
  8. (You should be on the ‘General’ tab.) Click on the ‘Driver’ tab.
  9. Click on ‘Update Driver…’. (There should be a pop-up.)
  10. Click on ‘Browse my computer for driver software’.
  11. Under ‘Search for driver software in this location:’, you should enter or browse through your folders to get this, ‘C:\Program Files\Common Files\Apple’.
  12. Click ‘Next’.
  13. After you unplug your device from your computer and plug it in again, it should be detected in your iTunes as well!

I hope the above steps would help you get your iTunes to detect your device! 🙂

I was really awed by the service provided because we’ve had bad experiences with troubleshooting the internet connection over the phone in Australia and so I was originally a little hesitant about calling in; but wow, the support (and patience) I received from Belle was really fantastic!! 😀
I’m still proud to be Team Apple even though Daniel has tried to get me to be a convert (because he thinks that my iPhone pales in comparison to his Samsung, especially in terms of the screen size and expendable memory capacity) and join Team Samsung – nope, don’t see myself changing teams in the near future! 😉

Say what you want about the iPhone but I’m staying with Team Apple – because I really love it or because I simply don’t like Samsung! 😛

Leave a Reply

